Has anyone compiled WordPress 3.8 successfully?

Discussion about the open-source Phalanger [?] project.

Has anyone compiled WordPress 3.8 successfully?

Postby profnimrod » January 2nd, 2014, 6:59 pm

Hello forum,

I am new to Phalanger and the reason I have installed it is that I would like to develop C#.Net plug-ins for WordPress 3.8. I have successfully installed WP 3.8, but get a 5 errors and 15 warnings, when I tried to compile it. A couple of example errors are:

C:\inetpub\phalanger_emergence\wp-includes\ID3\getid3.lib.php(285,5): error PHP1003: Cannot break/continue 1 level(s)

C:\inetpub\phalanger_emergence\wp-includes\ID3\module.tag.id3v2.php(433,22): error PHP1212: Invalid argument count in a call to the function 'substr'

Has anyone successfully compiled WP 3.8, and if so, what changes did you have to make?

Many thanks in advance.

Kurt
profnimrod

Re: Has anyone compiled WordPress 3.8 successfully?

Postby Jakub Misek » January 6th, 2014, 6:01 pm

Hi,

Great you are trying Phalanger.

Those 2 errors are bugs in PHP code; Phalanger is strict for such errors and does not allow such code.

- PHP1003: replace it with return;
- PHP1212: fix the function call, they have wrong bracketing

Thanks,
Jakub Misek │ DEVSENSE s.r.o. | @misekjakubjakub@devsense.com
Jakub Misek

Postby Jakub Misek » January 6th, 2014, 6:02 pm

Also I would recommend to report these errors to WP.org

Thanks,
Jakub Misek │ DEVSENSE s.r.o. | @misekjakubjakub@devsense.com
Jakub Misek

Postby profnimrod » January 7th, 2014, 1:48 pm

Many thanks for your assistance Jakub - my interest in Phalanger is that I am a.NET developer who wants to build .NET extensions for WP for a couple of sites I am currently setting up.

As you suggested, I have posted the errors and warning to the WP support forum in the hope that they can fix future releases (http://wordpress.org/support/topic/php- ... st-5077041), and suggested to them that they test their code against Phalanger as a matter of routine.