SimpleXmlElement Issue

Discussion about the open-source Phalanger [?] project.

SimpleXmlElement Issue

Postby dp22193 » March 30th, 2013, 4:08 am

I am new to implementing Phalanger and I am trying to use it with WordPress. My client wants to use the Gantry framework/theme plugin and an exception is thrown when the theme is activated. The exception is a null reference exception when the code tries to perform an xpath query on the xml document. The xml document is loaded using the following constructor:

new GantrySimpleXMLElement($gantry->templatePath . '/templateDetails.xml', null, true);

GantrySimpleXMLElement extends SimpleXml. I have verified that the xml document it is trying to load exists and is valid. I am loading the following extensions:

php_xml.mng
php_domxml.mng

It seems, according to the PHP documentation, that this is implemented in PHP. Is there something that I need to do to make this work?

Thanks for your help.
dp22193

Re: SimpleXmlElement Issue

Postby Jakub Misek » March 30th, 2013, 9:32 am

Hi,

Great you are trying Phalanger!

Use of php_*.dll extensions is little bit hack; these are legacy php4 extensions, and Phalanger/.NET is loading them in very unusual way.

Anyway for most of legacy php extensions there is their managed reimplementation. XML stuff is implemented in following
Code: Select all
<add assembly="PhpNetXmlDom, Version=3.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=2771987119c16a03" section="xmldom"/>
<add assembly="PhpNetXml, Version=3.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=2771987119c16a03" section="xml" />

Just remove use of php_xml and php_domxml and use the configuration above instead.

Thanks!
Jakub Misek │ DEVSENSE s.r.o. | @misekjakubjakub@devsense.com
Jakub Misek

Postby dp22193 » March 30th, 2013, 3:25 pm