Page 1 of 2

Debugging PHP

PostPosted: December 13th, 2012, 7:28 pm
by shaunpeoples
Hi,

When I am debugging, the only way to continuously and reliably ensure that break points are being hit is to manually terminate the PHP Tools Debugger tray icon and choose exit.

Simply stopping the running program I am debugging reports that it was stopped in the Debug output window:

The program '[9048] php.exe' has exited with code -1 (0xffffffff).
The program '[9132] PHP.Debugger.Systray.exe' has exited with code -1 (0xffffffff).

However, subsequent runs of fail to hit break points. I am running Windows 8, Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate, and running it as Admin.

Any thoughts on how to ensure that I can debug without having to kill the tray icon each time?

Thanks.

Re: Debugging PHP

PostPosted: December 13th, 2012, 7:30 pm
by shaunpeoples
Forgot, my current PHP Tools Setup is:

[X] Apply server settings to all users

[X] Use PHP built-in Web Server

[X] Specific port 9000

Re: Debugging PHP

PostPosted: December 13th, 2012, 9:35 pm
by shaunpeoples
Also, in selecting the "Exit" from the tray menu, the menu loses focus and needs to be selected from behind the tray icon group menu.

Re: Debugging PHP

PostPosted: December 13th, 2012, 9:43 pm
by shaunpeoples
Additional info: This only occurs when terminating the debugging session while running (close browser) while the IDE is sitting on a break point.

Repro steps:

-Hit break point in IDE
-Stop in debugger
-Attempt to run again
-No break point hit

or

-Hit break point in IDE
-Close browser
-Attempt to run again
-No break point hit

While that may seem unnecessary, long running process are necessary to be terminated in debugging before the page is rendered.

Thanks,

Shaun

Re: Debugging PHP

PostPosted: December 13th, 2012, 9:54 pm
by shaunpeoples
Additional:

Continuing execution from the break point, then attempting to stop debugging hangs the IDE which eventually presents the "force debugging" dialog while it waits to attempt to stop debugging.

-Shaun

Re: Debugging PHP

PostPosted: December 13th, 2012, 11:43 pm
by Miloslav Beno
Hi Shaun,

Thank you very much notifying us.

I've set up the same environment as you have, I'll try to reproduce the problem and inform here about the progress.

Thanks again!

Re: Debugging PHP

PostPosted: December 14th, 2012, 6:41 pm
by Miloslav Beno
Hi Shaun,

I was able to replicate and fix the issue with the debugging. We'll release the update for it pretty soon. We just also want to address "Exit menu loosing focus" thing. If you'd like we can give you the update before public relase, so you can try it out if it works for you.

Thank you very much

Re: Debugging PHP

PostPosted: December 14th, 2012, 7:24 pm
by Miloslav Beno
Good, so "exist loosing focus" thing is fixed too now...

Re: Debugging PHP

PostPosted: December 17th, 2012, 2:39 am
by shaunpeoples
Awesome, sounds great. I'm more than willing to try out the fix.

Thanks again.

Re: Debugging PHP

PostPosted: December 17th, 2012, 8:16 pm
by Miloslav Beno
Hi Shaun,

there was a minor update today and it's including fixes we've discussed here. So you can give it a try. Give me know if it works fine for you now.

Thanks