Create Project Failure - Wizard Failed to Load

PHP Tools [?] extends Visual Studio with set of advanced features to work more efficiently with PHP code.

Create Project Failure - Wizard Failed to Load

Postby dhughes » March 4th, 2018, 5:01 am

I installed a 30-day trial version of PHP Tools, but I'm unable to create a new project from existing code. When I go to File >> New >> Project from Existing Code, I get the following error message:

The Wizard failed to load. The registry values may be incorrect. Please contact support or reinstall Visual Studio. Could not load assembly: Devsense.VisualStudio.ImportProjectFolderWizard and class: Devsense.VisualStudio.ImportProjectFolderWizard.PageManager

The fault could be in the registry or it could be that the assembly itself is missing.
Exception detail: Could not load file or assembly 'Devsense.VisualStudio.ImportProjectFolderWizard' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.

What could be the problem? I could reinstall Visual Studio if I had to, but I'd prefer not to since it's a fairly slow process. I'm pretty excited about the prospect of using this tool but I'm frustrated that the first thing that happened after installing it was running into a major error. Any help anyone can offer is much appreciated!
dhughes
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 4th, 2018, 4:37 am

Re: Create Project Failure - Wizard Failed to Load

Postby koizumiyuuiti » March 5th, 2018, 5:30 am

I got the same error
koizumiyuuiti
 
Posts: 2
Joined: March 5th, 2018, 5:21 am

Re: Create Project Failure - Wizard Failed to Load

Postby Miloslav Beno » March 5th, 2018, 8:27 am

Hi,

Thanks for letting us know. This sounds like it can be a bug in the latest update. Do not reinstall VS. Please let me investigate and get back to you ASAP.
Miloslav Beno │ DEVSENSE s.r.o. │ @miloslavbenomiloslav@devsense.com
User avatar
Miloslav Beno
 
Posts: 1242
Joined: January 7th, 2012, 8:36 pm

Re: Create Project Failure - Wizard Failed to Load

Postby Miloslav Beno » March 5th, 2018, 8:37 am

We've identifies the issue and we will release an update ASAP. For now, you can go to New > Project> PHP > From Existing Code . It does the same thing.

Thanks
Miloslav Beno │ DEVSENSE s.r.o. │ @miloslavbenomiloslav@devsense.com
User avatar
Miloslav Beno
 
Posts: 1242
Joined: January 7th, 2012, 8:36 pm

Re: Create Project Failure - Wizard Failed to Load

Postby koizumiyuuiti » March 5th, 2018, 9:03 am

Thank you
I did the same thing in that way
koizumiyuuiti
 
Posts: 2
Joined: March 5th, 2018, 5:21 am

Re: Create Project Failure - Wizard Failed to Load

Postby Miloslav Beno » March 5th, 2018, 10:18 am

Great!

Anyway the latest minor update has it fixed. You can download it from herr https://www.devsense.com/download

Thank you
Miloslav Beno │ DEVSENSE s.r.o. │ @miloslavbenomiloslav@devsense.com
User avatar
Miloslav Beno
 
Posts: 1242
Joined: January 7th, 2012, 8:36 pm

Re: Create Project Failure - Wizard Failed to Load

Postby dhughes » March 5th, 2018, 12:01 pm

Miloslav Beno wrote:Great!

Anyway the latest minor update has it fixed. You can download it from herr https://www.devsense.com/download

Thank you


Wow, super fast reply Miloslav - your support team response time is impressive! :)

I'm running into one additional issue. I'm using Visual Studio 2017 (Enterprise edition) but the update appears to only be compatible with VS 2010-2015. When I click the download, it says, "This add-in requires Visual Studio 2010, 2012, 2013 or 2015 to be installed. Express edition is not supported."

Thanks in advance for any additional help you can provide. (In the meantime, I'll use the workaround you suggested by going to New > Project> PHP > From Existing Code).
dhughes
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 4th, 2018, 4:37 am

Re: Create Project Failure - Wizard Failed to Load

Postby Miloslav Beno » March 5th, 2018, 1:16 pm

Thank you! :-)

For VS2017 please use directly VSIX installer for VS2017. Since this version we are not able to install with msi anymore.

Please let me know if you were able to install.
Miloslav Beno │ DEVSENSE s.r.o. │ @miloslavbenomiloslav@devsense.com
User avatar
Miloslav Beno
 
Posts: 1242
Joined: January 7th, 2012, 8:36 pm

Re: Create Project Failure - Wizard Failed to Load

Postby dhughes » March 5th, 2018, 1:30 pm

Miloslav Beno wrote:Thank you! :-)

For VS2017 please use directly VSIX installer for VS2017. Since this version we are not able to install with msi anymore.

Please let me know if you were able to install.


I see it now - if the VS 2017 button had been a snake, it would have bitten me ;)

That did the trick, thanks!
dhughes
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 4th, 2018, 4:37 am

Re: Create Project Failure - Wizard Failed to Load

Postby Miloslav Beno » March 5th, 2018, 1:44 pm

hehe :-D

Great, I'm glad it works now.
Miloslav Beno │ DEVSENSE s.r.o. │ @miloslavbenomiloslav@devsense.com
User avatar
Miloslav Beno
 
Posts: 1242
Joined: January 7th, 2012, 8:36 pm


Return to PHP Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron

User Control Panel

Login

Who is online

In total there are 4 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 4 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 89 on October 15th, 2018, 4:06 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests
Phalanger