How to connect to local SQL-Server in Visual Studio

PHP Tools [?] extends Visual Studio with set of advanced features to work more efficiently with PHP code.

How to connect to local SQL-Server in Visual Studio

Postby Bluesky787 » July 19th, 2017, 4:14 pm

Hello everyone,

It's really a shame to post this question, but I am a complete PHP newbie and I stumbled upon thousands of different approaches to connect PHP to MSSQL, but not in Visual Studio. Apparently, this is still a bit uncommon...

So, now I have set up a MSSQL-Server from within Visual Studio 2017, where PHP Tools for Visual Studio is installed. The server is hosted locally in a .mdf file. There are already some tables created and VS tells me there's a functioning connection to MSSQL. It also gives me a connection String.

Now I tried to connect using

Code: Select all
$server_db = mysqli_connect('(localdb)\\v13.0', array('Data Source=(LocalDB)\MSSQLLocalDB;AttachDbFilename="D:\Users\Username\Documents\Visual Studio 2017\Projects\MyProject\SQL_DB.mdf";Integrated Security=True;Connect Timeout=30'));

where the whole string within this connect command is the given connection string I retrieved from VS (in Server-Properties).

So, conclusion is, the program runs this command and returns a null Object.

Most sources I found have stated I should use 'sqlsrv_connect' instead, but this command isn't recognized by VS.

What am I doing wrong?
Help of every kind is highly appreciated.

Regards
Bluesky787

Re: How to connect to local SQL-Server in Visual Studio

Postby Miloslav Beno » July 25th, 2017, 8:39 am

Hello,

This question is not really PHP Tools related, but basicaly issue is that you are trying to connect to mssql server with mysql api.

As you've pointed out you will need to use sqlsrv_* functions, which are not installed by default. You will need to place php_sqlsrv.dll extension in the ext directory of your php installation annd activate the extension in php.ini.