API/Attach To Process

PHP Tools [?] extends Visual Studio with set of advanced features to work more efficiently with PHP code.

API/Attach To Process

Postby silas2 » March 16th, 2017, 7:45 pm

I'm trying to debug a REST API (Magento), say I'm running an instance of that localhost:1234/, then from another instance of VS, I'm firing my REST calls, with a native .Net app, you can Attach to Process and step into the API instance, can I do that with remote debugging?
silas2
 
Posts: 7
Joined: February 10th, 2017, 4:13 pm

Re: API/Attach To Process

Postby Miloslav Beno » March 20th, 2017, 12:28 pm

Hello,

Attach to Process workflow doesn't work with PHP Debugging in VS. You need to have PHP Project setup, start the debugging usual way (F5) and make sure xdebug initiates the debug session. In case of REST API, the best way would be to setup remote_autostart https://docs.devsense.com/debugging/troubleshooting#debugger-wont-work-when-dont-open-a-page-wait-for-a-request-from

Please let me know if that helped.

Thanks,
Miloslav Beno │ DEVSENSE s.r.o. │ @miloslavbenomiloslav@devsense.com
User avatar
Miloslav Beno
 
Posts: 1073
Joined: January 7th, 2012, 8:36 pm

Re: API/Attach To Process

Postby silas2 » March 20th, 2017, 2:42 pm

Yeees!!! It works. Thanks.
silas2
 
Posts: 7
Joined: February 10th, 2017, 4:13 pm

Re: API/Attach To Process

Postby Miloslav Beno » March 22nd, 2017, 11:29 am

Perfect! Happy to help ;-)

Have a good one,
Miloslav Beno │ DEVSENSE s.r.o. │ @miloslavbenomiloslav@devsense.com
User avatar
Miloslav Beno
 
Posts: 1073
Joined: January 7th, 2012, 8:36 pm


Return to PHP Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron

User Control Panel

Login

Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 62 on January 7th, 2012, 10:54 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests
Phalanger