Page 1 of 1

xdebug with iis/PHP Manager for IIS

PostPosted: September 16th, 2013, 1:06 pm
by l33xjs
Hi, i'm trying to enable xdebug for a magento project. I'm currently running the site under iis/php 5.3.

in order to enable xdebug i seem to have to do it through the PHP Manager for IIS which adds the following to php.ini

[PHP_XDEBUG-2.2.3-5.3-VC9-NTS]
extension=php_xdebug-2.2.3-5.3-vc9-nts.dll

This does enable xdebug in php info, but tells me XDEBUG NOT LOADED AS ZEND EXTENSION.

i have tried

[PHP_XDEBUG-2.2.3-5.3-VC9-NTS]
zend_extension = C:\Program Files (x86)\PHP\v5.3\ext\php_xdebug-2.2.3-5.3-vc9-nts.dll
xdebug.remote_enable = on
xdebug.remote_handler = dbgp
xdebug.remote_host = 127.0.0.1
xdebug.remote_port = 9001
xdebug.remote_mode = req
xdebug.idekey="php-vs"

[PHP_XDEBUG-2.2.3-5.3-VC9-NTS]
extension=php_xdebug-2.2.3-5.3-vc9-nts.dll

and also commenting the extension= (based on a stack overflow post) but none seem to get the desired result.

Do you have any suggestions?

Re: xdebug with iis/PHP Manager for IIS

PostPosted: September 16th, 2013, 5:23 pm
by Jakub Misek
Hi,

The correct configuration would be
Code: Select all
xdebug.remote_enable = on
xdebug.remote_handler = dbgp
xdebug.remote_host = localhost
xdebug.remote_port = 9000
zend_extension="C:\Program Files (x86)\PHP\v5.3\ext\php_xdebug-2.2.3-5.3-vc9-nts.dll"
It seams you have a different xdebug.remote_port configuration. The default value is 9000. If you would like to use 9001 instead, it has to be changed in Tools | Options | PHP Tools | Advanced.

Please give me know if it works for you.

Thanks,

Re: xdebug with iis/PHP Manager for IIS

PostPosted: September 16th, 2013, 5:54 pm
by l33xjs
Well its an improvement!

IIS and PHP info now seem to accept that xdebug is enabled thanks. I can't get it to break into the debugger though (i have changed the port to 9001 on both sides, i think you have to when using fastCGI?)

Re: xdebug with iis/PHP Manager for IIS

PostPosted: September 18th, 2013, 2:36 pm
by Miloslav Beno
If you try to call phpinfo() does it show XDebug loaded?

When you press F5 in PHP Project what does it do? Make sure you have PHP project not just Web site which doesn't support PHP debugging. Does it show something in output window?

Thank you

Re: xdebug with iis/PHP Manager for IIS

PostPosted: September 18th, 2013, 2:41 pm
by l33xjs
it does show xdebug loaded yes. i'll check the project and output asap.